Our Playwrights

Isobel Robins Konecky

With broken hearts, the playwrights, board, and staff of New Dramatists mourn the passing of our beloved friend, champion, and Board President Emerita Isobel Robins Konecky.


Admissions Suspended for the 2021-2022 Cycle; Current Residencies Extended By One Year

New Dramatists has decided to suspend admissions for the 2021-2022 cycle and extend the residencies of all 59 current residents for another year.  With a complex and multi-pronged reopening plan ahead of us, and without a firm reopening date, we decided that this was the best way to maximize our resources in support of our current resident company of playwrights.  

New Dramatists Welcomes Alumni Sharon Bridgforth and Qui Nguyen to the Board

We are proud to announce two new board members, ND alumni Sharon Bridgforth and Qui Nguyen. The board voted unanimously in favor at the last board meeting held on March 18, 2021; the two will be joining the Board for their first meeting on June 17, 2021.  Follow the link below to learn more about these two extraordinary additions to our board. 

New Dramatists is Closed to the General Public

We continue to support our resident company in the virtual sphere, during the pandemic emergency.

Check back here for future updates re: our reopening schedule.

Lyricist Benjamin Scheuer and Co-Librettists Melissa Li and Kit Yan Win 2021 Kleban Prize

View the 2021 virtual awards ceremony hosted by Tony winners and Kleban board members, Richard Maltby, Jr. and Maury Yeston, with musical performances by this year's recipients.

Lyricist Benjamin Scheuer and co-librettists Melissa Li and Kit Yan have been selected as the winners of the 31st annual Kleban Prize for Musical Theatre. While the award celebrates the artists' career work overall, all three winners recently created works that center the transgender community and experience. Click here to read the full announcement on Playbill.

New Dramatists administers the Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre on behalf of the Kleban Foundation.

Welcome, New Dramatists Resident Class of 2028!

We are excited to announce our next incoming class of resident playwrights, who will officially begin their seven-year residencies in the Fall of 2021: a huge congratulations to Jaclyn Backhaus, Eboni Booth, Agnes Borinsky, Julia Izumi, C. A. Johnson, Sam Max, and Charly Evon Simpson!  We are absolutely thrilled to support these writers’ artistic process in the years to come.

Coming to a Screen Near You