Welcome New Members of the Resident Company!

New Dramatists, an artistic home and developmental laboratory for professional playwrights, is proud to announce the addition of five writers to its illustrious, dynamic resident playwright company: Nkenna Akunna, Hilary BettisEdwin Rivera-AriasJesús I. Valles, and Deborah Yarchun.

They will be in-residence through June, 2031. These adventurous theatre artists were selected by a seven-person committee of New Dramatists current residents, alumni, and outside theatre professionals from 350 applicants after undergoing a highly competitive, ten-month review and consensus-based decision-making process. New Dramatists will kick off their seven-year residencies with an evening of readings and celebration at the annual New Playwright Welcome in the fall.