67th Anniversary Spring Luncheon

May 12, 2016 - 11:15am


This spring, New Dramatists is honored to recognize Audra McDonald. Ms. McDonald is unparalleled in the breadth and versatility of her artistry as both a singer and an actress. Recipient of a record-breaking six Tony Awards, two Grammy Awards, and an Emmy Award, she was named one of Time magazine’s 100 most influential people of 2015. Aside from her Tony-winning performances in Carousel, Master Class, Ragtime, A Raisin in the Sun, The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess, and Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill, she has appeared on Broadway in The Secret Garden, Marie Christine (Tony nomination), Henry IV, and 110 in the Shade (Tony nomination). She returns in the 2015-16 season in Shuffle Along, Or, The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed. The Juilliard-trained soprano’s opera credits include La voix humaine and Send at Houston Grand Opera, and Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny at Los Angeles Opera. On television, she was seen by millions as the Mother Abbess in NBC’s The Sound of Music Live! and played Dr. Naomi Bennett on ABC’s Private Practice. She won an Emmy Award for her role as host of PBS’s Live From Lincoln Center, having previously received nominations for Wit and A Raisin in the Sun. Other TV credits include The Good Wife, Homicide: Life on the Street, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters’ First 100 Years, The Bedford Diaries, Kidnapped, and the 1999 remake of Annie. On film, she has appeared in Seven Servants, The Object of My Affection, Cradle Will Rock, It Runs in the Family, The Best Thief in the World, She Got Problems, Rampart, and, most recently, Ricki and the Flash. An exclusive recording artist for Nonesuch Records, she has released five solo albums for the label. McDonald also maintains a major career as a concert artist, regularly appearing on the great stages of the world and with leading international orchestras. An outspoken advocate for civil rights, marriage equality, and at-risk and underprivileged youth, she sits on the boards of Covenant House International. Of her many roles, her favorites are the ones performed offstage: wife to her husband, actor Will Swenson, and mother to her daughter, Zoe Madeline.

All proceeds from the Luncheon directly support New Dramatists’ resident playwrights and their work. Single tickets start at $300 (50% of which is tax deductible) – a true bargain for such a significant event.

HELP US SALUTE Ms. McDonald -- with a sponsorship, premium table, ad in our Tribute Journal - or with single tickets to this extraordinary lunch. SPONSORSHIPS AND TICKETS AVAILABLE NOW -- see right for details. For more info, contact Christie Brown 212-757-6960 ext. 5468 or by email.

Photo of Audra McDonald by Autumn de Wilde


Betsy &  Alan D. Cohn Foundation

Joanne Jacobson

Loeb & Loeb LLP

Seth Gelblum


  • Abrams Artists Agency
  • Susan Heller Anderson
  • Hilaria and Alec Baldwin
  • Dori Berinstein
  • Bob Boyett
  • Jamie deRoy & Friends
  • DeWitt Stern
  • Jolyon Fox Stern
  • The Dramatists Guild
  • John W. Weidman
  • Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz
  • Willy Holtzman & 
  • Sylvia Shepard
  • Janover LLC
  • David Rosenzweig
  • Jujamcyn Theaters
  • Howard & Janet Kagan
  • Isobel Robins Konecky
  • Susan & David Kraus
  • Robin Lynn & Larry Blumberg
  • Marks Paneth LLP
  • Christopher Cacace,
  • Mark D’Ambrosi,
  • Robert Kuchner
  • Stacy Mindich Productions
  • Off-Broadway Angels
  • Charlotte & David Ackert,
  • Janet Cohn Slosberg &
  • Mike Slosberg,
  • Charles Spence, Jane Stanicki
  • Daryl Roth
  • Samuel French, Inc.
  • Schreck Rose
  • Dapello & Adams
  • Nancy A. Rose
  • The Shubert Organization
  • Philip J. Smith,
  • Robert E. Wankel
  • Sony Pictures Entertainment
  • Kenneth Stefin
  • Barry and Fran Weissler
  • Barbara Whitman
Event Details

Broadway Ballroom
Marriott Marquis Hotel
1535 Broadway
New York, New York

Champagne Reception /
11:15 am

Luncheon & Entertainment /
12:00 pm

Single Tickets

Playwright Underwriter


Premium Sponsorships

Tribute Journal Ads