Kirsten Greenidge, Richard Maxwell Among 2012 Obie Award Winners

May 22, 2012

Kirsten Greenidge and Richard Maxwell
Kirsten Greenidge and Richard Maxwell
This content is sourced from

The 57th Annual Obie Awards, honoring the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway, were given out at a ceremony May 21 at Webster Hall in Greenwich Village.

The awards were presented by Eric McCormack, Grace Gummer, Hugh Dancy, Jonathan Pryce, Justin Bartha, Leslie Odom Jr., Lily Rabe, Michael McKean, Tonya Pinkins, Topher Grace and Tracee Chimo.

The Obies were judged by a committee of seven: Brian Parks, Michael Feingold, Alexis Soloski, Annie Baker, Anne Kauffman, José Rivera and Helen Shaw.

A complete list of awards follows:

Best New American Play (with $1,000 prize)
Amy Herzog
4000 Miles (Lincoln Center Theater)


Cherise Boothe
Milk Like Sugar (Playwrights Horizons and the Women's Project)

Steven Boyer
Hand to God (Ensemble Studio Theatre/Youngblood)

Sweet and Sad Ensemble:
Jon DeVries, Shuler Hensley, Maryann Plunkett, Laila Robins, Jay O. Sanders, J. Smith-Cameron (The Public Theater)

Gabriel Ebert and Mary Louise Wilson
4000 Miles (Lincoln Center Theater)

Jim Fletcher
Sustained Excellence

Santino Fontana
Sons of the Prophet (The Roundabout Theatre)

Linda Lavin
The Lyons (The Vineyard Theatre)

Susan Pourfar
Tribes (Barrow Street Theatre)


Kirsten Greenidge
Milk Like Sugar (Playwrights Horizons and the Women's Project)


Richard Maxwell
Early Plays (The Wooster Group and St. Ann's Warehouse)

Jay Scheib
World of Wires (The Kitchen)


Mark Barton, Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design

Mimi Lien, Sustained Excellence of Set Design

Matt Tierney and Ben Williams, sound design
The Select (The Sun Also Rises) (New York Theatre Workshop)

Special Citations

Mark Bennett, Denis O'Hare, Lisa Peterson
and Stephen Spinella
An Iliad (New York Theatre Workshop)

Elevator Repair Service
Sustained Excellence

Erin Courtney and Ken Rus Schmoll
A Map of Virtue (13P)

Steven Hoggett, Martin Lowe and John Tiffany
Once (New York Theatre Workshop)

Daniel Kitson
It's Always Right Now, Until It's Later (St. Ann's Warehouse)

Ethan Lipton & His Orchestra
No Place to Go (The Public Theater/Joe's Pub)

Ross Wetzsteon Grant ($1,000)
Youngblood (Ensemble Studio Theatre)

The Bushwick Starr ($2,500)
The Debate Society ($2,500)

Lifetime Achievement
Caridad Svich

Read More:



Stay in touch and keep on top of the latest activities from ND.