United States Artists Literature Fellows Include Annie Baker

December 7, 2011

This content is sourced from The Los Angeles Times.

The annual United States Artists grants have been announced; among the recipients are five literature fellows, each of whom will receive $50,000. Fifty grants will be awarded to 52 fellows; the winners include two pairs of collaborators.

Three poets are among the literature fellows: Terrance Hayes, who won the 2010 National Book Award for his collection "Lighthead"; A. E. Stallings, who earlier this year received a MacArthur Fellowship; and Campbell McGrath, a 1991 MacArthur Fellow who now teaches at Florida International University.

Oakland-born author Karen Tei Yamashita, who teaches at UC Santa Cruz, will also receive a United States Artists fellowship. Her most recent novel, "I, Hotel," was a finalist for the National Book Award. Playwright Annie Baker rounds out the literature award winners.

Read More: