Todd London Receives 2014 Miss Lilly Award

June 3, 2014

On Monday, June 2nd at Playwrights Horizons out-going New Dramatists Artistic Director, Todd London, was awarded a 2014 Miss Lilly Award. This award goes to a male theatre professional who is a great champion of women theatre artists. Other Miss Lilly recipients include Tim Sanford, David Ives, and Gary Garrison. The award was presented by New Dramatists alumni, Julia Jordan and Karen Hartman. Other 2014 award recipients include Winnie Holtzman, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Johanna Day, Joyce Ketay, Mary Mitchell Campbell, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Dominique Morisseau, Tony nominee Kelli O'Hara, Jen Silverman, Tony nominee Jeanine Tesori, Liesl Tommy, Billie Allen, Marsha Norman, and Susan Bernfield. Additionally, Stacey Mindich presented a special award of $25,000 to fund a new work by Neena Beber, also a New Dramatists alumna.

Todd joins in-coming Artistic Director, Emily Morse, who received a Lilly Award in 2010, the first year of the Award presentations, for Advocacy, and a host of New Dramatists playwrights -- Melissa James Gibson, Lucy Thurber, Chisa Hutchinson, Liz Duffy Adams, Annie Baker, Sarah Ruhl, Young Jean Lee, Lynn Nottage, Laura Marks, Tanya Barfield, Jiehae Park, among other exceptional theatre artists from all disciplines.

THE LILLY AWARDS were started in the spring of 2010 as a way to honor the work of women in the American theatre. The founders of The Lilly Awards are Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman and Theresa Rebeck. The awards are named for Lillian Hellman, a pioneering American playwright who famously said “You need to write like the devil and act like one when necessary.” The awards continue in the tradition of her spirit and annually honor the work of women in the American Theater.