ND News

November 13, 2018



Whitelisted by Chisa Hutchinson
Directed by Jade King Carroll
Wednesday, November 14 @ 11:15am

Chasing Totality by Lynn Rosen

Directed by Kip Fagan
Wednesday, November 14 @ 3pm

The Conversation by Matthew Freeman
Directed by Jessi Hill
Friday, November 16 @ 11am  Read More

November 10, 2018

Calling All Interns!


New Dramatists is now accepting applications for our spring internship program. Please click here for more information and to apply. The deadline is November 25 at 11:59pm.   Read More

November 2, 2018

How's this site?

Please take this two minute survey to give us feedback about how to improve the New Dramatists website!  Read More

October 30, 2018

Calling All Composers!

2017 Composer-Librettist Studio

New Dramatists is now accepting applications online from composers interested in joining our annual Composer-Librettist Studio. The deadline to apply is November 19 at 10am. Click here for more information and to apply.   Read More

September 6, 2018

2018-2019 Season Preview


Wherever you are throughout this season, chances are there is a production of a play by a New Dramatists writer that is coming to a theatre near you!

Visit our full listing of over 365 full productions of work by resident playwrights, alumni, and fellows at theatres in NYC, abroad, and across the country during the 2018-2019 season!

This listing will be updated throughout the year.   Read More

August 12, 2018

2018-2019 Princess Grace Fellow in Playwriting

Vichet Chum

New Dramatists is delighted to announce that the 2018-2019 Princess Grace Fellow in Playwriting has been awarded to Vichet Chum for his play, Bald Sisters.   Read More

May 17, 2018


Class of 2025

New Dramatists, an artistic home and developmental laboratory for professional playwrights, is proud to announce the addition of seven writers to its illustrious, dynamic resident playwright company: J. Julian Christopher, Sarah Gancher, Mike Lew, Vickie Ramirez, Tammy Ryan, Susan Soon He Stanton, and Lauren Yee. They will be in-residence through the year 2025.  Read More

May 15, 2018


2018 Luncheon Awards

In celebrating its 69th anniversary, New Dramatists, an artistic home and developmental laboratory for professional playwrights, announced several awards recognizing excellence and service in the field of new play development at their Spring Luncheon held on May 15, 2018.   Read More

May 2, 2018

Now Accepting Applications for the Kleban Prize in Music Theatre


Calling librettists and lyricists! The submissions window is now open for the Kleban Prize in Music-Theatre, administered by New Dramatists. The deadline for receiving online applications is NOW May 22, 2018. Click here for guidelines and to begin your application.  Read More

March 19, 2018

2018 Luncheon Honoree

Denzel Washington (photo credit: John Russo)

New Dramatists is delighted to announce that we will honor DENZEL WASHINGTON at our 69th Anniversary Spring Luncheon on Tuesday, May 15, 2018.   Read More

February 15, 2018


Princess Grace Awards

Applications are Being Accepted Now through March 15 for the Princess Grace Playwriting Fellowship at New Dramatists

We encourage emerging playwrights to apply at the beginning of their careers so that through the New Dramatists Fellowship, they can develop their work as well as benefit from being a part of a unique, diverse, dynamic community of professional playwrights. An applicant’s status as an emerging playwright is evaluated during the adjudication process.

Click here for more information.
  Read More

January 25, 2018

Staff Additions and Transitions

Sofie Wasserman-Smith and Candis C. Jones

As of January 2018, New Dramatists is delighted to announce the addition of two new members to our permanent staff. Sofie Wasserman-Smith, full-time Development Manager, and Candis C. Jones, part-time Playwrights’ Lab Manager, will support our fundraising efforts and artistic programming, respectively.   Read More

November 14, 2017

November is Time to Play!


Click here to reserve your seats for open presentations!

Wednesday, November 15 @ 3pm

Thursday, November 16 @ 11am

Thursday, November 16 @ 3:30pm
MARY by Melisa Tien with music by Matthew Frey  Read More

November 13, 2017

Calling All Composers! Composer-Librettist Studio

The submissions window for the Jan-Feb 2018 Composer-Librettist Studio is now open! Apply before 11/27/17!

The New Dramatists Composer-Librettist Studio, presented in collaboration with Nautilus Music-Theater, is designed to provide an opportunity for five writers and five composers to work with professional performers, exploring the possibilities and basic elements of music-theater. Studio Dates: January 24, 2018-February 9, 2018

For more information and to apply: http://newdramatists.org/composer-librettist-studio  Read More

September 11, 2017

The Seth Gelblum Theatre

Seth Gelblum

On September 11, 2017 New Dramatists dedicated our second floor theatre to our late Board Chair, Seth Gleblum, in a naming ceremony that took place prior to the annual New Playwright Welcome.   Read More

August 30, 2017

Donja R. Love Receives the 2017 Princess Grace Award in Playwriting

Donja R. Love
Donja R. Love

New Dramatists is delighted to welcome Donja R. Love to the playwright company. Donja received the 2017 Princess Grace Award in Playwriting for his play, Sugar In Our Wounds, and will be in residence at New Dramatists for the 2017-2018 Season.

June 19, 2017

New Dramatists Announces Eight New Playwrights Join the Resident Playwright Company

The Class of 2024

New Dramatists, an artistic home and developmental laboratory for professional playwrights, is proud to announce the addition of eight writers to its illustrious, dynamic resident playwright company: Johnna Adams, Boni B. Alvarez, Kirk Wood Bromley, Morgan Gould, MJ Kaufman, Aya Ogawa, Jiehae Park, and Andrea Stolowitz. They will be in-residence through the year 2024. These supremely talented theatre artists were selected by a seven-person committee of New Dramatists current residents, alumni, and outside theatre professionals from 415 applicants after undergoing a highly competitive, nine-month consensus based evaluation process. New Dramatists will kick off their seven-year residencies with an evening of readings and celebration at the annual New Playwright Welcome in the fall.  Read More

March 23, 2017

Support for Writers with Children: Announcing The Lilly-Ruhl Fund

After winning the Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, alumna Sarah Ruhl made a gift of $5,000 to New Dramatists to set up a child care reimbursement fund for playwrights. In January, 2017, with the support of alumna, Julia Jordan, The Lilly Awards Foundation’s Board of Directors matched Sarah's gift with an additional $5,000, and in so doing, created the Lilly-Ruhl Fund.   Read More

January 26, 2017

New Dramatists to Honor Daryl Roth & Paula Vogel at 68th Anniversary Spring Luncheon

Daryl Roth (left) and Paula Vogel

New Dramatists, Tony® Honor recipient and the nation's premier playwright development laboratory, will honor 10-time Tony Award®-winning producer Daryl Roth and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel with their 2017 Distinguished Achievement Awards at its 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute. The event will be held Tuesday, May 16 at the New York Marriott Marquis.  Read More

September 12, 2016

New Dramatists Dedicates its 68th Season to Seth Gelblum

Seth Gelblum with the Resident Playwright Company at the 2013 Spring Luncheon

On Monday September 12, as New Dramatists launches its 68th season of service to outstanding playwrights, we announce our dedication of the upcoming year to Seth Gelblum, a tireless advocate for this organization - and artists in general, as one of the field's leading attorneys. The entire New Dramatists family deeply mourns the loss of Seth, who passed away on August 8, 2016.  Read More

Syndicate content