Awards & Fellowships


In partnership with nine different foundations, New Dramatists distributes over a quarter of a million dollars annually to both resident and nonresident writers. On behalf of our partners, we administer the prestigious Kleban Prize for a librettist and lyricist, the Edward and Sally Van Lier Playwriting Fellowship for three emerging New York City writers of color, the Princess Grace Playwriting Fellowship for an early-career writer, and several awards for new plays, new musicals, gifts for incoming and outgoing playwrights, travel and research, and recognition of excellence. In addition, as funding permits, we offer exchanges for international writers, sending our resident playwrights abroad and hosting their counterparts from overseas for multi-week residencies.

The Princess Grace Award in Playwriting

The Princess Grace Awards is a national program dedicated to identifying and assisting emerging theater, dance, and film artists who are at the outset of their careers or at early stages of professional development. This mission is accomplished in playwriting through a residency program at New Dramatists in New York City. New Dramatists administers the playwriting award on behalf of the Princess Grace Foundation. For guidelines please visit this page.

The Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre

Edward Kleban, the lyricist of A Chorus Line and other extraordinary works, created the Kleban Prize in his Will. The prize is given annually to both a librettist and a lyricist. The Board of The Kleban Foundation sets the amount of the prize annually but in recent years it has amounted to the sum of $100,000 in each category, payable in two annual installments.

Kleban designed the prize based on his experience as a promising writer. He was acutely aware that, though composers and musicians may often work within the theater, lyricists and librettists generally have to work outside the theater in order to support their writing. He wanted a prize of sufficient size to allow any promising writer time to write, and thus his creation of the prize flowed from his desire to help worthy others like himself.

The award is administered by New Dramatists on behalf of the The Kleban Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors: André Bishop, Elliot H. Brown, Sheldon Harnick, Richard Maltby, Jr., Richard Terrano, John Weidman and Maury Yeston. For guidelines please visit this page.

Edward and Sally Van Lier Playwriting Fellowship

The Van Lier Fellowship is a two-year program established to help young, economically disadvantaged playwrights living in New York City develop their talent and become involved in the professional theatre community. Eligible playwrights include U.S. citizens who are Asian-American, African-American, Native American or Latino. Past Van Lier Fellows have included Robert O’Hara, Carmen Rivera, Steven Sapp, New Dramatists Alumni Lynn Nottage, Diana Son, Eisa Davis and Sung Rno. Fellowship recipients are provided with a fellowship grant, a mentor (New Dramatists resident playwright) and opportunities to workshop their plays with professional actors and directors. For guidelines please visit this page.