Internal and Field-Wide Writer Awards


As part of its Playwright Support Services, New Dramatists administers a number of resident-playwright specific and, in a few cases, field-wide awards, designed to recognize and support playwrights and playwriting/bookwriting.

Return to Section Main Page
Return to Annual Report Cover Page

Barbara Hammond, winner of the 2015 Lippman Award visits Sealand in June, 2016.
Barbara Hammond, winner of the 2015 Lippman Award visits Sealand in June, 2016.

Frederick Loewe Award in Music Theatre

Generously sponsored by the Frederick Loewe Foundation, The Frederick Loewe Award in Music Theatre at New Dramatists selects a New Dramatists writer and composer/partner for the development of a proposed new music theatre work. The 2015 Loewe Award recipient is Sibyl Kempson with composer Graham Reynolds for their new musical, The Securely Conferred, Vouchsafed Keepsakes of Maery S.

Learn More about the Loewe Award and the Playwrights Lab

The Lippmann Family “New Frontier” Award

The Lippmann Family “New Frontier” Award assists playwrights in opening up new frontiers of the imagination, through travel and adventure. The Award was founded by Zilla Lippmann, President Emerita of the New Dramatists Board of Directors, and supported by Zilla’s philanthropic entity, the John Golden Fund, named after her beloved uncle, the legendary theatre creator and producer. This year, the award was given to Sibyl Kempson, to visit the Syr Darya River in Kazakhstan as research for an opera libretto commission, inspired by five Renaissance-era tapestries of scenes from the life of Persian King Cyrus II.

The Joe A. Callaway Award

The Joe A. Callaway Award, named in honor of legendary actor Joe A. Callaway, is awarded each year to an “outgoing” writer for their “good citizenship” and service to the New Dramatists community. This Award’s purpose honors the legacy of Joe Callaway in his dedication to advancing the field of independent artists, seen in this Award and others offered in his name at SDC and Actors’ Equity Association. In 2015-16, the New Dramatists Callaway Award was given to Andrea Thome.

The Princess Grace Award in Playwriting

The Princess Grace Award in Playwriting was created by the Princess Grace Foundation–USA in 1994 to seek out and support exceptional, emerging American playwrights. The Award provides an early-career writer with a year-long residency at New Dramatists, a $7,500 stipend, mentoring from New Dramatists playwrights, and a publication opportunity with Samuel French. The 2015-16 Princess Grace Fellow was Jonathan Payne. Learn More about the Princess Grace Fellowship at ND

The Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre

New Dramatists is honored to administer the field-wide Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre. Founded in honor of renowned lyricist Edward Kleban, the Prize is given annually to both a librettist and a lyricist. The Kleban Foundation Board sets the amount of the prize annually; in recent years the Prize has awarded $100,000 in each category, payable in two annual installments. The Prize is adjudicated in two review rounds over several months, with finalist judges casting votes to determine the Prize winners.

2016 Kleban Prize Statistics and Recipients:
Application Statistics: 70 Librettist applicants; 101 Lyricist applicants; 171 total
Stacey Luftig – Lyricist
Daniel Goldstein – Librettist
2016 Judges: Judith Ivey, Michael Price, Andrew Zerman.

This season, the Kleban Prize shifted to a full-digital application process, allowing writers to complete the application online and upload work samples via a custom-design, secure portal. The submission deadline also moved 4 months earlier (now May 15 annually).
Learn More about the Kleban Prize