100% of New Dramatists income is contributed, through grants, government awards, contributions from individuals, two fundraisers, and through the results of generous estate gifts. We do not charge writers for any services we offer, nor do we financially participate in their work. All of our artistic events are offered to the public free of charge.

We're deeply grateful for our contributors, who understand the value of investing in talented artists and providing them with the fertile ground they need in order to create, take risks, and make bold new theatre.

We strive to ensure our Donor lists are complete and accurate. If you have questions or changes, please contact Director of Development Christie Brown or call (212) 757-6960 ext. 5468.

New Dramatists’ programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and from the New York State Council on the Arts, with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State legislature. The Jerry A. Tishman Playwrights Creativity Fund is sustained by the Jerry A. Tishman Living Trust. The Fund was founded in 2008 by a lead grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and receives additional major support from the Time Warner Foundation and the Scherman Foundation’s Katharine S. and Axel G. Rosin Fund. Extended musical workshops supported in part by the Frederick Loewe Foundation. Special thanks to The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust for supporting New Dramatists. New Dramatists receives support from the Dramatists Guild Fund. Special thanks to Google for its Ad Grant, which provides in-kind AdWords advertising to promote New Dramatists’ mission, writers and events on Google search result pages.

CLICK HERE for a list of New Dramatists’ current supporters.


Learn More

  • 2015-16 Contributors

    2015-16 Contributors

  • Legacy Giving @ New Dramatists


    New Dramatists is honored to have received a Leadership Bequest gift from Jerry A. Tishman, which will underwrite the next 15 years’ worth of New Dramatists’ Creativity Fund work sessions. In honor of his extraordinary support of these deeply effective extended development opportunities, the initiative has been re-named the Jerry A. Tishman Playwrights Creativity Fund.


    Robert Anderson
    Arnold Auerbach
    Charles Bowden & Paula Laurence
    Sumner Locke Elliott
    Shannon D. Fullam
    Rhea Gaisner
    John Golden
    Albert Hackett & Frances Goodrich
    Nancy Hamilton
    Ronald S. Konecky
    Edwin Kruse
    Dorothy Lindsay
    Zilla Lippmann
    Tad Mosel
    Michaela O’Harra
    Kerttu Shubert & John Shubert
    In Memory of Susan Smith
    Lily Turner

    A number of long-time friends and supporters of New Dramatists have pledged bequest gifts to the organization. At this time, these donors prefer to remain anonymous.

  • 68th Anniversary Spring Luncheon