From the Desk of Isobel Konecky



Isobel Konecky with longtime supporter Betty Ann Jacobs.

Since 1985, it’s been a true pleasure to serve New Dramatists on its Board of Directors.

“New Dramatists’ eight arts professionals support an artistic season that suggests a team many times their size.”

Throughout my time here, an impressive number of terrific playwrights have received first-class support from our exceptional staff. Led in partnership by Executive Director Joel Ruark and Artistic Director Emily Morse, New Dramatists’ eight arts professionals support an artistic season that suggests a team many times their size. Alongside their commitment to the playwrights, their connection to the organization is deep: average staff tenure is 10 years, with one staffer holding 23 years of continuous service. Our Bernard B. Jacobs Internship Program provides an entrée into the theatre world for hundreds of remarkable young artists and arts professionals – a number of whom eventually become New Dramatists playwright fellows, resident writers, or New Dramatists staff members themselves.

My 29 fellow board members are deeply dedicated to New Dramatists’ mission of service to our writers. A number of us have decades-long formal affiliation with New Dramatists, alongside our deep connections to the theatre industry. For the last two decades, our Board Chair, Seth Gelblum, set the standard for championing our playwrights and ensuring the services we offered met our writers’ professional needs.

In August 2016, we were devastated by Seth Gelblum’s passing, after a long illness. One of Seth’s many gifts to this organization was his careful consideration of a succession plan, which took effect in August to name David Rosenzweig the new Board Chairman. I am proud to continue my tenure as New Dramatists’ first President Emerita, and Abbie Van Nostrand stepped into the role of Board President. Seth’s legacy of wise leadership will benefit us far into the future.

I invite you to learn more about the very special people who make the idea of New Dramatists an everyday reality for our company of 50 resident writers. And, thanks so much for your enduring support of this special place.
Isobel Konecky
President Emerita, New Dramatists Board of Directors


Learn More

  • 2015-16 Board of Directors

    New Dramatists 2015-16 Board of Directors

    Seth Gelblum, Chairman *
    Isobel Robins Konecky, President *
    David C. Rosenzweig, Vice Chair/Treasurer *
    Abbie Van Nostrand, First Vice President *
    Robert Kuchner, Vice President/Secretary *
    Robin Lynn, Vice President *
    David A. Rahm, Vice President *

    Charlotte Ackert
    Jenny Ewing Allen
    Susan Heller Anderson *
    Dori Berinstein
    Kirsten Berkman
    Luis Castro
    Betsy Cohn *
    Jason M. Cooper
    Jim Dale
    Mark D’Ambrosi
    Kristoffer Diaz * **
    Madeleine George **
    John Guare
    Willy Holtzman
    Joanne Jacobson *
    Susan Kraus
    Harding Lemay, Emeritus
    Sarah K. Lippmann
    Lyndsay Magid
    Francis Neuwirth, Emeritus
    Kenneth Prestininzi **
    Nancy A. Rose
    Janet Cohn Slosberg
    Jolyon Fox Stern
    John W. Weidman *
    George C. Wolfe
    Stefanie Zadravec **

    * Executive Committee member
    ** Playwright Member

  • New Dramatists' Staff

    New Dramatists' Staff

  • Bernard B. Jacobs Internship Program

    This program is named in memory of the beloved late President of the Shubert Organization Bernard B. Jacobs, who discovered and mentored so many talented theatre artists, young and old, during his lifetime. New Dramatists proudly salutes the talented young participants in the 2015-16 Bernard B. Jacobs Internship Program, who include many of our future colleagues and peers in the theatre.

    2015-16 Bernard B. Jacobs Interns
    Jordan Barsky
    Tyler Christie
    Mary Clohan
    Tom Dziuba
    Ava Geyer
    Keenan Hurley
    Joel Kirk
    Zoe Rhulen
    Valerie Pham
    Jenna Spiwack
    Edessa Tailo
    B.J. Tindal
    Sofie Wasserman-Smith

    New Dramatists’ interns are vital to the life and work of our organization. Our thanks and fondest regards to this internship class for their valuable contributions.

    Interested in Interning at New Dramatists?

  • Remembering Seth Gelblum

    New Dramatists' Staff

Board Members


David Rosenzweig, Vice Chair, with John Weidman.